World Language

ELL and WORLD LANGUAGE FACULTY

Rubio, Lorenzo

Department Chair      Chicano Bowl/Hispanos Unidos lrubio@elmhurst205.org

Aupperle, Allison

Spanish Teacher aaupperle@elmhurst205.org

Buono, Jennifer

Italian Teacher  jbuono@elmhurst205.org

Camacho, Jacquelin

ELL/Spanish Teacher   jcamacho@elmhurst205.org

Chou, Yi Hua Marie

Chinese Teacher/Chinese Club mchou@elmhurst205.org

DelPercio, Natalie

Italian Teacher ndelpercio@elmhurst205.org

Disterheft, Catherine

Spanish Teacher cdisterheft@elmhurst205.org

Forsythe, Kevin

ELL Resource Teacher kforsythe@elmhurst205.org

Fraticola, Lisa

Spanish Teacher  lfraticola@elmhurst205.org

Hamidi, Suzanne

French Teacher / French Club shamidi@elmhurst205.org

Kaniyaly, Veena

Science/ELL Science Teacher vkaniyaly@elmhurst205.org

Leidolf, Beth

Spanish Teacher bleidolf@elmhurst205.org

Li, Li                                Chinese Teacher lli@elmhurst205.org

Martinez, Eduvijes

ELL/Spanish Teacher emartinez@elmhurst205.org

McGowan, Denise

Spanish Teacher  dmcgowan@elmhurst205.org

Miller, Ruth

French Teacher  rmiller@elmhurst205.org

Morales, Brenda

Spanish Teacher  bmorales@elmhurst205.org

O'Malley, Joseph

Spanish Teacher jomalley@elmhurst205.org

Oliveros, Diane

Bilingual Counselor/ELL Coordinator doliveros@elmhurst.org

Rodríguez, Kelley        Spanish Teacher  krodriguez@elmhurst205.org

Szymonik, Stephanie

Science Teacher/ELL Science sszymonik@elmhurst205.org

Vazquez, Amy

French/Spanish Teacher

Vazquez, Omar

Spanish Teacher

 

Quick Links

World Language at York

Overview

WORLD LANGUAGE STUDY AT YORK

If you talk to a man in a language he understands, that goes to his head. If you talk to him in his own language, that goes to his heart.

‒Nelson Mandela

Believing that language and communication are at the heart of the human experience, the York World Language department provides the tools that students need to maximize their communicative and cultural capacity.   By responding to the learning needs of all students, we ensure that students can reach their highest level of linguistic potential.

All world language courses at York focus on developing proficiency within the three modes of communication.  The three modes are described by The American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages as follows:

Presentational Mode- The Presentational Mode refers to the creation of oral and written messages in a manner that facilitates interpretation by members of the other culture where no direct opportunity for the active negotiation of meaning between members of the two cultures exists. Students present information, concepts, and ideas to an audience of listeners or readers on a variety of topics.

Interpretive Mode- The Interpretive Mode focuses on the appropriate cultural interpretation of meanings that occur in written and spoken form where there is no recourse to the active negotiation of meaning with the writer or the speaker. Students are assessed both in on their reading and listening skills.  Students interact with texts of various types.  A text can be any kind of spoken, written or visual material, as well as films and music.

Interpersonal Mode- The Interpersonal Mode is characterized by the active negotiation of meaning among individuals. Participants observe and monitor one another to see how their meanings and intentions are being communicated. Students engage in conversations, provide and obtain information, express feelings and emotions, and exchange opinions.

Understanding Scores

AAPPL AND STAMP

WHAT DO MY AAPPL OR STAMP SCORES MEAN?

Click on the links below to learn more about interpreting proficiency ratings for the AAPPL and STAMP tests.

Interpretive listening and reading scores

Presentational writing scores

Interpersonal listening/speaking scores

World Language News

Salsa Lessons in Spanish 3

SALSA LESSONS IN SPANISH 3!

 

SEAL & COMMENDATION RECIPIENTS CLASS OF 2018!

CONGRATULATIONS TO OUR SEAL AND COMMENDATION RECIPIENTS FROM THE CLASS OF 2018!

 

10 York High School​ Students ​Earned Biliteracy Seal​! 

Ten York High School​ Students ​Earned Seal​ of Biliteracy​! 
 
The seven students pictured above are Samuele Bode, Thomas Stotzer, Madison Walenga, Ariana Solis, Kayla Cartwright, Andrea Zurlo and Erica Hackett.  Kirsten Mojziszek, Armand Diaz and Sofia Sanchez earned the Seal of Biliteracy as well.  
To be awarded this distinction, they had to meet standards in English on the Prairie State Achievement Exam (PSAE), as well as demonstrating​ that they had developed a proficiency level of Intermediate High or Advanced in all four domains in the target language (interpersonal speaking, presentational writing, interpretive listening and reading).​

Students demonstrated proficiency on the A​CTFL's Assessment of Performance toward Proficiency in Languages (​AAPPL​)​ exam. They paid to take the test themselves and gave up their free time to do so, without knowing for sure that ​York​ would be able to award the Seal​,​ given the state's tight timeline. We would like to thank them all for their willingness to take the chance​ and put forth the effort to earn this award!
 
The Seal is affixed to students' high school diplomas and explicitly listed on their transcripts.  It is the first distinction in Illinois to be awarded in such a prominent way.
 
In addition to the eight students who earned the Seal, 20 students earned the State Commendation Toward Biliteracy. To do this, they had to meet standards in English on the PSAE and score Intermediate Low or above in all four domains on the AAPPL test.
 
​Next year, we plan to offer the AAPPL in the fall and spring to maximize students' opportunities to earn the Seal​ of Biliteracy​.  Thank you to all who participated in this pilot and congratulations again to our Seal and Commendation recipients!

AP COURSE OVERVIEWS AND EXAM PRACTICE