World Language

EL and WORLD LANGUAGE FACULTY

Lorenzo Rubio
Department Chair
lrubio@elmhurst205.org

Yihua Chou
Chinese Teacher
mchou@elmhurst205.org
Li Li
Chinese Teacher
lli@elmhurst205.org
Suzanne Hamidi
French Teacher
shamidi@elmhurst205.org

Joanna Kacprzynska
French Teacher
jkacprzynska@elmhurst205.org

Ruth Miller
French Teacher
ruthmiller@elmhurst205.org
Tamar Mishigian
French Teacher
tmishigian@elmhurst205.org
Lindsay Wyffels
French Teacher
lwyffels@elmhurst205.org
Jennifer Buono
Italian & EL Teacher
jbuono@elmhurst205.org
Natalie DelPercio
Italian Teacher
ndelpercio@elmhurst205.org
Allison Aupperle
Spanish & EL Teacher
aaupperle@elmhurst205.org
Jacquelin Camacho
Spanish Teacher
jcamacho@elmhurst205.org

Catherine Disterheft
Spanish Teacher
cdisterheft@elmhurst205.org

Lisa Fraticola
Spanish Teacher
lfraticola@elmhurst205.org
Elizabeth Knoch
Spanish Teacher
eknoch@elmhurst205.org
Beth Leidolf
Spanish Teacher
bleidolf@elmhurst205.org
Eduvijes Martinez
Spanish Teacher
emartinez@elmhurst205.org
Denise McGowan
Spanish Teacher
dmcgowan@elmhurst205.org
Brenda Morales
Spanish Teacher
bmorales@elmhurst205.org
Joe O'Malley
Spanish Teacher
jomalley@elmhurst205.org
Kelley Rodriguez
Spanish Teacher &
Instructional Coach
krodriguez@elmhurst205.org
Omar Vasquez
Spanish Teacher
ovasquez@elmhurst205.org
Tania Candelaria
EL Secretary
tcandelaria@elmhurst205.org
Michele Carlson
Bilingual Social Studies Teacher
mcarlson@elmhurst205.org
Kevin Forsythe
EL Teacher
kforsythe@elmhurst205.org
Erendira Loza Navarro
Bilingual Parent Liaison
elozanavarro@elmhurst205.org
Rebecca Mladic-Morales
EL Teacher
rmladicmorales@elmhurst205.org

World Language at York

Overview

WORLD LANGUAGE STUDY AT YORK

If you talk to a man in a language he understands, that goes to his head. If you talk to him in his own language, that goes to his heart.

‒Nelson Mandela

Believing that language and communication are at the heart of the human experience, the York World Language department provides the tools that students need to maximize their communicative and cultural capacity.   By responding to the learning needs of all students, we ensure that students can reach their highest level of linguistic potential.

All world language courses at York focus on developing proficiency within the three modes of communication.  The three modes are described by The American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages as follows:

Presentational Mode- The Presentational Mode refers to the creation of oral and written messages in a manner that facilitates interpretation by members of the other culture where no direct opportunity for the active negotiation of meaning between members of the two cultures exists. Students present information, concepts, and ideas to an audience of listeners or readers on a variety of topics.

Interpretive Mode- The Interpretive Mode focuses on the appropriate cultural interpretation of meanings that occur in written and spoken form where there is no recourse to the active negotiation of meaning with the writer or the speaker. Students are assessed both in on their reading and listening skills.  Students interact with texts of various types.  A text can be any kind of spoken, written or visual material, as well as films and music.

Interpersonal Mode- The Interpersonal Mode is characterized by the active negotiation of meaning among individuals. Participants observe and monitor one another to see how their meanings and intentions are being communicated. Students engage in conversations, provide and obtain information, express feelings and emotions, and exchange opinions.

State seal of biliteracy

What is the State Seal of Biliteracy?
List of Colleges & Universities Awarding Credit for State Seal of Biliteracy: College of DuPage, Eastern Illinois, Illinois State, Northeastern Illinois, Northern Illinois, Southern Illinois, UIC, University of Illinois, Western Illinois for now...

 

Sign up for the Seal of Biliteracy Test Now through Pushcoin!

Make sure you sign up for the correct test. Ask mr. rubio if you're not sure.

deadline for signing up & payment is september 18th.

testing day is wednesday, september 25th at 7:30 am, (during late start)

 

Understanding Your Scores

Interpretive Reading & Listening Scores

Presentational Writing Scores

Interpersonal Speaking & Listening Scores

 

Follow yorkworldlanguage on instagram!

World Language & EL news

  • Seal of Biliteracy Test will be offered Wednesday, September 25th at 7:30 am. Registration Form coming soon!
  • Congratulations to our teachers presenting at the ACTFL National Convention for Teachers of World Language: Mrs. Rodriguez, Mrs. McGowan, Ms. Aupperle, and Ms. Fraticola!
  • Check out the World Language Department Chair's Presentation for a quick explanation of our course offerings at York as well as answers to the question: Why take World Language?


 

AP COURSE OVERVIEWS AND EXAM PRACTICE