Transition Center

 

York Transition Center

Address
407 W. St. Charles Road
Elmhurst, IL 60126

Attendance Line
​​​​​​​(630) 617-8303

Staff Contacts

Justin Olson - Vocational Coordinator
jolson@elmhurst205.org
(630)-617-8001

Jason Vanderplow - Postsecondary Transition Coordinator
jvanderplow@elmhurst205.org
​​​​​​​
(630) 617-2496

Amy Brown
Resource Teacher
amybrown@elmhurst205.org

Alice Townsend - Speech -Language Pathologist
atownsend@elmhurst205.org
6(30)-617-2400 ext. 5102

Kristi Stone - Social Worker
kstone@elmhurst205.org
(630) 617-2428

Tyler King - Case Manager
tking@elmhurst205.org
(630) 617-2506

Tim Wealton - Case Manager
twealton@elmhurst205.org
(630) 617-2504

Steve Westendorf - Case Manager
swestendorf@elmhurst205.org
(630) 617-8000

What is the Transition Center? 

The passage of the Individuals with Disabilities Act (IDEA) mandates school districts to provide transition services for students with disabilities in order to improve post-school outcomes for these youth. To help meet the requirements for transition, District 205 has developed a community-based transition program. This program is called the 18-21 program because of the age-range of students involved, and is designated to support students with disabilities who may have met the requirements for graduation, but who may need to continue to work on their transition goals. IDEA defines transition services as:

A coordinated set of activities for a student, designed within an outcome-oriented process, which promotes movement from school to post-school activities, including post-secondary education, vocational training, integrated employment (including supported employment), continuing and adult education, adult services, independent living, or community participation. The coordinated set of activities shall be based upon the individual student's needs taking into account the student's preference and interests, and shall include instruction, community experiences, the development of employment and other post-school adult living objectives, and when appropriate, acquisition of daily living skills and functional vocational evaluation.

Providing transition services and supports in community settings to students ages 18-21 with intellectual disabilities allows students to expand their independence, self-advocacy, employment, and social and community integration during their final years of mandated public schooling.

More information