Science

Kirsten Mahoney
Science Department Chairperson
630-617-2456
kmahoney@elmhurst205.org

Amy Fuller
Core Academic Departments Secretary
630-617-2493
amyfuller@elmhurst205.org

 

SCIENCE TEACHERS

Allen, Vanessa

Science Teacher                                            vallen@elmhurst205.org

Anderson, Ryan

Science Teacher  randerson@elmhurst205.org

Birns, Claire

Science Teacher                                            cbirns@elmhurst205.org

Blaus, Bob

Science Teacher/ECO Club bblaus@elmhurst205.org

Brown, Adam

Science Teacher                                            abrown@elmhurst205.org

Conrad, Jill                                                     Instructional Coach/ Science Teacher jillconrad@elmhurst205.org

Daly, Margaret                                           Science Teacher                                          mdaly@elmhurst205.org

Drach, Jeffrey

Science Teacher/ Science Olympiad Club jdrach@elmhurst205.org

Ewald, Megan 

Instructional Coach/ Science Teacher mewald@elmhurst205.org

Felix, Dustin

Science Teacher                                            dfelix@elmhurst205.org

Ferhati, Ellizabeth

Science Teacher                                            eferhati@elmhurst205.org

Golebiowski, Mark

Science Teacher mgolebiowski@elmhurst205.org

Kaniyaly, Veena

Science/ELL Science Teacher vkaniyaly@elmhurst205.org

Moss, Amy

Science Teacher                                            amoss@elmhurst205.org

Parr, Dana

Science Teacher                                            dparr@elmhurst205.org

Paschke, Jeremy

Science Teacher jpaschke@elmhurst205.org

Piwowarczyk, Daniel                                 Science Teacher                                           piwowarczyk@elmhurst205.org                  

Ramm, Brian

Science Teacher  bramm@elmhurst205.org

Rayan, Ronny

Science Teacher                                            rrayan@elmhurst205.org

Rowe, Pat

Special Education Science Teacher prowe@elmhurst205.org

Szymonik, Stephanie

Science Teacher/ELL Science sszymonik@elmhurst205.org

Wolski, Nancy

Science Teacher                                            nwolski@elmhurst205.org

Yun, Lauren

Science Teacher                                            lyun@elmhurst205.org

Zaccone, Jolee
Special Education Science Teacher          jzaccone@elmhurst205.org
Zentner, Cynthia

Science Teacher czentner@elmhurst205.org


LOOKING FOR YOUR TEACHER?

CLICK HERE for a master department schedule 

Links to teacher websites are on the schedule


Dr.Kirsten Mahoney
Science Department Chair
630-617-2456
kmahoney@elmhurst205.org

Picture of Science Teachers in green
 
Science Department Mission Statement
The mission of the York Science Department is to inspire minds to inquire, think critically, and make informed decisions allowing students to have a positive impact on society.  

 


Science Courses


Opportunities and Scholarships 

Opportunities

Introduce a girl to engineering day
  • Annual event put on by the Society of Women Engineers for high school girls to explore the interdisciplinary nature of engineering and learn what it means to be an Engineer at Illinois University. 
  • UIUC Campus, Loomis Laboratory
  • When: October 26th, 10am-4pm
  • $5 Registration. Includes lunch and a T-shirt
  • Regisration (closes on Oct. 20th)
Northwestern Medicine2019-2020 Discovery Program Application

Students elligible for this 2-year program must meet the following requirements: 

  • Be at least 15 years of age.
  • Be a resident of DuPage or Kane county.
  • Be entering sophomore or junior year of high school.
  • Have an academic GPA of at least 3.0 (on a 4.0 GPA scale).
  • Commit to the two year program, including attendance at all Discovery Program meetings and community service activities. No more than two excused absences are permitted per year.
  • Commit to abide by all Discovery Program Guidelines and Policies.
  • Submit the completed First Year Applications to the appropriate Chapter.

Applications due Friday, September 27th, 2019

More Information and the application can be found at NM Discovery Program.

Scholarships

 

 


NGSS: A New Vision for Science Education 

Illinois has adopted the Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS).  District 205 Science Teachers are developing and implementing instructional strategies that prepare students to be scientifically-informed citizens. 

Information on NGSS can be found at www.nextgenscience.org/. How will science education look different? Please take a look at this student/parent sheet on implications for science education. 


8th Grade Students and Parents

Welcome to York! Next year you will be enrolled in one of our Biology classes. Please click HERE to see the 8th Grade Night Presentation.