Science

SCIENCE TEACHERS

Allen, Vanessa

Science Teacher vallen@elmhurst205.org

Anderson, Ryan

Science Teacher, randerson@elmhurst205.org

Behen, Jolee

Special Education English Teacher jbehen@elmhurst205.org

Birns, Claire

Science Teacher cbirns@elmhurst205.org

Blaus, Bob

Science Teacher/ECO Club bblaus@elmhurst205.org

Brown, Adam

Science Teacher abrown@elmhurst205.org

Cermak, Lindsey

Science Teacher lcermak@elmhurst205.org

Conrad, Jill                                                        Instructional Coach/ Science Teacher jillconrad@elmhurst205.org

Drach, Jeffrey

Science Teacher/ Science Olympiad Club jdrach@elmhurst205.org

Ewald, Megan 

Instructional Coach/ Science Teacher mewald@elmhurst205.org

Felix, Dustin

Science Teacher dfelix@elmhurst205.org

Ferhati, Ellizabeth

Science Teacher eferhati@elmhurst205.org

Golebiowski, Mark

Science Teacher mgolebiowski@elmhurst205.org

Kaniyaly, Veena

Science/ELL Science Teacher vkaniyaly@elmhurst205.org

Mahoney, Kirsten

Science Department Chair kmahoney@elmhurst205.org

Moss, Amy

Science Teacher amoss@elmhurst205.org

Orlow, Teresa

Science Teacher- torlow@elmhurst205.org

Parr, Dana

Science Teacher dparr@elmhurst205.org

Paschke, Jeremy

Science Teacher jpaschke@elmhurst205.org

Ramm, Brian

Science Teacher

Rayan, Ronny

Science Teacher

Rowe, Pat

Special Education Science Teacher prowe@elmhurst205.org

Szymonik, Stephanie

Science Teacher/ELL Science sszymonik@elmhurst205.org

Wolski, Nancy

Science Teacher nwolski@elmhurst205.org

Yun, Lauren

Science Teacher lyun@elmhurst205.org

Zentner, Cynthia

Science Teacher czentner@elmhurst205.org


LOOKING FOR YOUR TEACHER?

CLICK HERE for a master department schedule 

Links to teacher websites are on the schedule


Dr.Kirsten Mahoney
Science Department Chair
630-617-2456
kmahoney@elmhurst205.org

York Science Department

Science Department Mission Statement
The mission of the York Science Department is to inspire minds to inquire, think critically, and make informed decisions allowing students to have a positive impact on society.  

 


Opportunities and Scholarships 

Opportunities

Fermilab Office of Education and Public Outreach Opportunity
  • Fermilab looking for up to 12 teams to create a hands-on activity that demonstrates a physics principle for elementary or middle school students. 
  • Event day: Sunday, February 10, 2019, from 1:00-5:00 PM
  • Team leaders will receive a T-shirt and lunch. 
  • Application due October 27, 2018; application link
College of DuPage STEMinars 
  • Women in STEM Career Day- Friday, Oct. 19, 2018 
  • National Chemistry Week Celebration- Saturday, Oct. 27, 2018
  • Explore Engineering Night- Friday, Nov. 9, 2018 
  • STEM Spotlight - Tuesday, March 19, 2019 
  • STEMCON- Saturday, April 27, 2019
Michigan Math and Science Scholars Summer Enrichment

Designed to offer high school students a pre-college experience. 
Location: University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Mi
3 Sessions June-August 
Applications open in January 2019

Scholarships

Illinois Chemical Educational Foundation (ICEF)

  • $2000 scholarships to high school senior science students 
  • Submit application no later than Friday, February 22, 2019; received no later than Wednesday, February 27, 2019

HealthCare Technology Management Essay

  • Essay: In 600 words or less, students describe what healthcare will be like in 20 years and how technology will be used to improve healthcare.
  • Three essays chosen. First place: $500 gift card; second place: $300 gift card; third place: $200 gift card. 
  • Students should include their name, school, town/state, and email address. 
  • The goal of this contest is to spread awareness about the healthcare technology management (HTM) field.
  • Submit Essays by April 22 to HTMEssays@aami.org 

NGSS: A New Vision for Science Education 

Illinois has adopted the Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS).  District 205 Science Teachers are developing and implementing instructional strategies that prepare students to be scientifically-informed citizens. 

Information on NGSS can be found at www.nextgenscience.org/. How will science education look different? Please take a look at this student/parent sheet on implications for science education. 


Science Courses  

Science Course Offerings Website.
 Textbooks and digital resources for each course. 


8th Grade Students and Parents

Welcome to York! Next year you will be enrolled in one of our Biology classes. Please click HERE to see the 8th Grade Night Presentation.