Science

SCIENCE TEACHERS

Allen, Vanessa

Science Teacher vallen@elmhurst205.org

Anderson, Ryan

Science Teacher, randerson@elmhurst205.org

Behen, Jolee

Special Education English Teacher jbehen@elmhurst205.org

Birns, Claire

Science Teacher cbirns@elmhurst205.org

Blaus, Bob

Science Teacher/ECO Club bblaus@elmhurst205.org

Brown, Adam

Science Teacher abrown@elmhurst205.org

Cermak, Lindsey

Science Teacher lcermak@elmhurst205.org

Conrad, Jill                                                        Instructional Coach/ Science Teacher jillconrad@elmhurst205.org

Drach, Jeffrey

Science Teacher/ Science Olympiad Club jdrach@elmhurst205.org

Ewald, Megan 

Instructional Coach/ Science Teacher mewald@elmhurst205.org

Felix, Dustin

Science Teacher dfelix@elmhurst205.org

Ferhati, Ellizabeth

Science Teacher eferhati@elmhurst205.org

Golebiowski, Mark

Science Teacher mgolebiowski@elmhurst205.org

Kaniyaly, Veena

Science/ELL Science Teacher vkaniyaly@elmhurst205.org

Mahoney, Kirsten

Science Department Chair kmahoney@elmhurst205.org

Moss, Amy

Science Teacher amoss@elmhurst205.org

Orlow, Teresa

Science Teacher- torlow@elmhurst205.org

Parr, Dana

Science Teacher dparr@elmhurst205.org

Paschke, Jeremy

Science Teacher jpaschke@elmhurst205.org

Ramm, Brian

Science Teacher

Rayan, Ronny

Science Teacher

Rowe, Pat

Special Education Science Teacher prowe@elmhurst205.org

Szymonik, Stephanie

Science Teacher/ELL Science sszymonik@elmhurst205.org

Wolski, Nancy

Science Teacher nwolski@elmhurst205.org

Yun, Lauren

Science Teacher lyun@elmhurst205.org

Zentner, Cynthia

Science Teacher czentner@elmhurst205.org


LOOKING FOR YOUR TEACHER?

CLICK HERE for a master department schedule 

Links to teacher websites are on the schedule


Dr.Kirsten Mahoney
Science Department Chair
630-617-2456
kmahoney@elmhurst205.org

York Science Department

Science Department Mission Statement
The mission of the York Science Department is to inspire minds to inquire, think critically, and make informed decisions allowing students to have a positive impact on society.  

 


Science Courses


Opportunities and Scholarships 

Opportunities

Summer Stem Camps  (link to all below)

Creative Approaches to Problems in Science Computing Workshop 

  • students learn about coding and solving real-world problems (July 15-19)
  • Grades: 9-12

Big Data and Visualization Camp

  • Camp for bridging the gap between high school and higher ed. (July 22-26)

Brookfield Zoo Summer Camps

  • Kids can explore the zoo with camp counselors as their safari guides.
  • Age: 4-14

Engage STEM Career Exploration Experiences

  • Topics include engineering, innovation, lasters/photonics/optics, nursing and healthcare.
  • Grades: 9-12

Digital Media Academy @ University of Chicago

  • Students create and develop STEM skills
  • Age:  Kids and teens 

ID tech

  • Learn about artificial inteligence, machines, film, robotics, and game design.
  • Age: Kids and teens

Illinois Institute of Technology (ITT) NxtGen Tech Summer Courses

  • Courses in cybersecurity, game development and programming, and augmented reality
  • Grades: 10-12 

Northern Illinois University (NIU) STEM Camp

Univeristy of Illinois at Chicago (UIC) Stem camps

  • Five week summer STEM camp
  • Age: High school seniors. 

Icebox Derby

  • STEM opportunity for girls age 13-18
  • Applications due 6/7/19
  • Derby date: Saturday, August 3, 2019

Scholarships

 

 


NGSS: A New Vision for Science Education 

Illinois has adopted the Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS).  District 205 Science Teachers are developing and implementing instructional strategies that prepare students to be scientifically-informed citizens. 

Information on NGSS can be found at www.nextgenscience.org/. How will science education look different? Please take a look at this student/parent sheet on implications for science education. 


Science Courses  

Science Course Offerings Website.
 Textbooks and digital resources for each course. 


8th Grade Students and Parents

Welcome to York! Next year you will be enrolled in one of our Biology classes. Please click HERE to see the 8th Grade Night Presentation.