Skip To Main Content

Physical Education/Health/Driver Ed

Department Chair

Lauren DeAngelis
Department Chair
630-617-2427
ldeangelis@elmhurst205.org

Linda Wilkie
Department Secretary
630-617-2403
lwilkie@elmhurst205.org

STAFF

Bellecomo-Young, Nicole

Assistant Athletic Director / Physical Education, Health and Driver Education

Bibel, Mark

Physical Education Teacher mbibel@elmhurst205.org

Constable, John

Physical Education Teacher jconstable@elmhurst205.org

DeAngelis, Lauren

Physical Education, Health, and Driver Education Department Chair

Dobric, Stevan

Student Support Teacher sdobric@elmhurst205.org

Eisen, Meredith

Physical Education


Fijor, Stephen

Physical Education, Health

Fitzgerald, Michael

PE Teacher/Head Football Coach

Gallivan, Elizabeth

Special Education Physical Education Teacher egallivan@elmhurst205.org

Giuliani, D. Mark

Physical Education Teacher dgiuliani@elmhurst205.org

Jensen, Michelle

Physical Education Performing Arts Teacher mjensen@elmhurst205.org

Kalal, David

Physical Education/Head Baseball Coach dkalal@elmhurst205.org

Kasper, Donald

Physical Education Teacher dkasper@elmhurst205.org

Martinelli, MaryKate

Physical Education Teacher mmartinelli@elmhurst205.org

Metcalf, Nicholas

Health/Driver Education/Special Education

Monken, Matthew

Physical Education Teachermmonken@elmhurst205.org

Pinta, Anna

Dance/PE Teacher apinta@elmhurst205.org

Roy, Markus

Physical Education Teacher mroy@elmhurst205.org

Samp, Jenna

Physical Education/Health Teacher

Schroeder, Megan

Physical Education/Health Teacher

 

PE MEDICAL LIMITATION FORM

York Physical Education, Health, and Driver Education Department
Home of the Dukes

 

Summer School Driver Education

Driver Education Summer School Registration starts Tuesday, January 21st at 7:15 am at Door 3.  Please print the form below and bring the form along with your payment.  Any questions please contact Lauren DeAngelis at ldeangelis@elmhurst205.org.

Registration Form (LINK)

York High School PE/Health/Driver Education Mission Statement

The mission of York High School’s PE/Health/Driver Education department is to proactively develop physically fit individuals, strengthen minds, and promote positive attitudes towards life-long fitness while shaping individuals to become positive, impactful members of society.

Physical fitness is not only one of the most important keys to a healthy body, it is the basis of dynamic and creative intellectual activity.

~John F. Kennedy

WELCOME

COURSE INFORMATION

TOP 10 REASONS WHY YOU NEED PHYSICAL EDUCATION
Reason 1: Regular Physical Activity Helps Prevent Disease
Reason 2: Regular Physical Activity Promotes Lifetime Wellness
Reason 3: Quality Physical Education Can Help Fight Obesity
Reason 4: Quality Physical Education Can Help Promote Lifelong Physical Fitness
Reason 5: Quality Physical Education Provides Unique Opportunities for Activity
Reason 6: Quality Physical Education Teaches Self-Management and Motor Skills
Reason 7: Physical Activity and Physical Education Promote Learning
Reason 8: Regular Physical Activity Participation Makes Economic Sense
Reason 9: Physical Education Is Widely Endorsed
Reason 10: Quality Physical Education Helps to Educate the Total Child

PE COMMON LEARNING TARGETS

Social Learning Targets: ISBE Standards 21, 24

  • I actively engage in Physical Education class or
  • I participate at a high level of activity during Physical Education class
  • I am accepting and respectful of diversity within the class.

Fitness Learning Targets: ISBE Standards 19, 20, 23

  • I can achieve my healthy zone for health related fitness components.
  • I can achieve and maintain my THR zone for a minimum of 20 minutes.
  • I am able to identify the differences between health and skill related fitness components.

 Lifestyle/Life-Long Learning Targets: ISBE Standards 21, 22, 24

  • I can model teamwork, through sportsmanship and fair play, to reinforce interpersonal skills to be implemented in daily life.
  • I understand the importance of lifelong health & physical fitness and the benefits of participation in a variety of activities competitively, recreationally, and within the community.

 Movement/Motor Skills Learning Targets: ISBE Standards 19, 23 

  • I can demonstrate several motor skills and movements patterns needed to perform a variety of physical activities. 
  • I can demonstrate knowledge of all basic rules, safety, & etiquette during physical activities.