English

Kevin Poduska
English Department Chairperson
630-617-2453
kpoduska@elmhurst205.orgOpens a New Window.

Amy Fuller
Core Academic Departments Secretary
630-617-2493
amyfuller@elmhurst205.org

Ausnehmer, Meghan

Special Education Teacher
mausnehmer@elmhurst205.org

Bendelow, Andrew

English Teacher abendelow@elmhurst205.org

Bylina, Cecilia

English Teacher / Y's Tales Advisor
cbylina@elmhurst205.org

Carrillo, Benjamin

English Teacher bcarrillo@elmhurst205.org

Chambers, Brendan

English Teacher / YTV Director bchambers@elmhurst205.org

Collins, Matthew

Special Education English Teacher mcollins@elmhurst205.org

Jennifer Comber
Special Education Teacher
jcomber@elmhurst205.org
DeLoriea, Kelly

English Teacher kdeloriea@elmhurst205.org

Dowling, Kathryn
kdowling@elmhurst205.org

English Teacher
 

Drumm, Brian

English Teacher bdrumm@elmhurst205.org

Fitzgerald, Kristina

English Teacher kfitzgerald@elmhurst205.org

Fleming, Sheila

English Teacher, Student Council Advisor
sfleming@elmhurst205.org

Foran, Elizabeth

Social Studies Teacher and Academic Literacy Teacher eforan@elmhurst205.org

Frank, Taylor

English Teacher
tfrank@elmhurst205.org

Kennedy-Brooks, Brianne

English Teacher and Key Club Sponsor bkennedy-brooks@elmhurst205.org

Lampa, Kim

English Teacher / York-hi Adviser klampa@elmhurst205.org

Lancaster, Melissa

English Teacher
mlancaster@elmhurst205.org

Lepore, Anne

Special Education English Teacher alepore@elmhurst205.org

McKinney, Rebecca

English Teacher rmckinney@elmhurst205.org

Noble, Jessica

English Teacher jnoble@elmhurst205.org

O'Connor, Erin

English Teacher erinoconnor@elmhurst205.org

Parrini, Isadora

English Teacher iparrini@elmhurst205.org

Pfau, Laura

English Teacher lpfau@elmhurst205.org

Phillips, Grace
English Teacher
gphillips@elmhurst205.org
Poduska, Kevin

English Dept. Chair kpoduska@elmhurst205.org

Riley, Rachel

English Teacher rriley@elmhurst205.org

Shackleton, Jennifer

English Teacher / Mirrors Adviser
jshackleton@elmhurst205.org

Sharko, Benjamin

English Teacher bsharko@elmhurst205.org

Vazquez, Gabriela

Special Education Teacher
gvazquez@elmhurst205.org

Wall, Elizabeth

English Teacher ewall@elmhurst205.org

Wood, Lillian

Special Education English Teacher lwood@elmhurst205.org

ENGLISH DEPARTMENT PHILOSOPHY

Anton Chekhov is credited with saying, “Don’t tell me the moon is shining; show me the glint of light on broken glass.”  Although more than a century old, this sentiment echoes the inquiry-based philosophy that is the foundation of all English coursework at York Community High School.  This philosophy promotes engagement in individual and group inquiry and builds knowledge through reading, writing, discussion, and debate.  Our inquiry-based approach challenges students with engaging questions, and students communicate their evolving understanding of the inquiry through increasingly sophisticated written and oral arguments. 

These inquiry questions provide the lens through which students develop literacy skills such as argumentation or analysis of an author’s bias or intent.  The ultimate goal for student learning is the development of clearly established skills of reading, writing, speaking, and listening, skills that will become crucial as they pursue post-secondary education and careers.  It is our intention to offer college preparatory courses that challenge and inspire.  Ultimately, a student’s four years as a Duke offer the opportunity to discover “the moon” through inquiry and inspire enlightenment through “broken glass.”

TEACHER RESOURCE

STUDENT QUICK LINK

SUMMER READING REMINDER...