English

Kevin Poduska
English Department Chairperson
630-617-2453
kpoduska@elmhurst205.org

Amy Fuller
Core Academic Departments Secretary
630-617-2493
amyfuller@elmhurst205.org

Ausnehmer, Meghan

Special Education Teacher
mausnehmer@elmhurst205.org

Bourke, Matthew
English Teacher / Student Press Advisor
mbourke@elmhurst205.org

Bylina, Cecilia
English Teacher
cbylina@elmhurst205.org
Chambers, Brendan

English Teacher / YTV Director bchambers@elmhurst205.org

Comber, Jennifer
Special Education Teacher
jcomber@elmhurst205.org
DeLoriea, Kelly

English Teacher kdeloriea@elmhurst205.org

Dowling, Kathryn
English Teacher
kdowling@elmhurst205.org
Drumm, Brian

English Teacher bdrumm@elmhurst205.org

Fitzgerald, Kristina

English Teacher kfitzgerald@elmhurst205.org

Frank, Taylor

English Teacher
tfrank@elmhurst205.org

Froats, Payton
English Teacher / Yearbook Advisor
pfroats@elmhurst205.org

Kimberly James
Special Education Teacher
kjames@elmhurst205.org
Kennedy-Brooks, Brianne

English Teacher / Key Club Sponsor bkennedy-brooks@elmhurst205.org

Lampa, Kim
English Teacher
klampa@elmhurst205.org
Lancaster, Melissa

English Teacher
mlancaster@elmhurst205.org

Lepore, Anne

Special Education English Teacher alepore@elmhurst205.org

McKinney, Rebecca

English Teacher rmckinney@elmhurst205.org

Metzler, Kaitlyn
English Teacher
kmetzler@elmhurst205.org

Migalla, Sean
English Teacher
smigalla@elmhurst205.org

Miller, Marcy
English Teacher
marcymiller@elmhurst205.org
Noble, Jessica

English Teacher jnoble@elmhurst205.org

O'Connor, Erin

English Teacher erinoconnor@elmhurst205.org

Parrini, Isadora

English Teacher iparrini@elmhurst205.org

Pfau, Laura

English Teacher lpfau@elmhurst205.org

Poduska, Kevin

English Dept. Chair kpoduska@elmhurst205.org

Riley, Rachel

English Teacher rriley@elmhurst205.org

Shackleton, Jennifer

English Teacher
jshackleton@elmhurst205.org

Sharko, Benjamin

English Teacher bsharko@elmhurst205.org

Vazquez, Gabriela

Special Education Teacher
gvazquez@elmhurst205.org

Kirsten Zinzer
English Teacher
kzinzer@elmhurst205.org
Corey Zock
English Teacher
lzock@elmhurst205.org

ENGLISH DEPARTMENT PHILOSOPHY

Anton Chekhov is credited with saying, “Don’t tell me the moon is shining; show me the glint of light on broken glass.”  Although more than a century old, this sentiment echoes the inquiry-based philosophy that is the foundation of all English coursework at York Community High School.  This philosophy promotes engagement in individual and group inquiry and builds knowledge through reading, writing, discussion, and debate.  Our inquiry-based approach challenges students with engaging questions, and students communicate their evolving understanding of the inquiry through increasingly sophisticated written and oral arguments. 

These inquiry questions provide the lens through which students develop literacy skills such as argumentation or analysis of an author’s bias or intent.  The ultimate goal for student learning is the development of clearly established skills of reading, writing, speaking, and listening, skills that will become crucial as they pursue post-secondary education and careers.  It is our intention to offer college preparatory courses that challenge and inspire.  Ultimately, a student’s four years as a Duke offer the opportunity to discover “the moon” through inquiry and inspire enlightenment through “broken glass.”

TEACHER RESOURCE

STUDENT QUICK LINK

SUMMER READING REMINDER...