York Community High School Home
World Languages Department

Proficiency Exam Offered April 18 and 20

Please sign up to take the AAPPL and STAMP exams here:

Language Proficiency Exam Registration

World Language study at York

If you talk to a man in a language he understands, that goes to his head. If you talk to him in his own language, that goes to his heart.

‒Nelson Mandela

Believing that language and communication are at the heart of the human experience, the York World Language department provides the tools that students need to maximize their communicative and cultural capacity.   By responding to the learning needs of all students, we ensure that students can reach their highest level of linguistic potential.

All world language courses at York focus on developing proficiency within the three modes of communication.  The three modes are described by The American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages as follows:

Presentational Mode- The Presentational Mode refers to the creation of oral and written messages in a manner that facilitates interpretation by members of the other culture where no direct opportunity for the active negotiation of meaning between members of the two cultures exists. Students present information, concepts, and ideas to an audience of listeners or readers on a variety of topics.

Interpretive Mode- The Interpretive Mode focuses on the appropriate cultural interpretation of meanings that occur in written and spoken form where there is no recourse to the active negotiation of meaning with the writer or the speaker. Students are assessed both in on their reading and listening skills.  Students interact with texts of various types.  A text can be any kind of spoken, written or visual material, as well as films and music.

Interpersonal Mode- The Interpersonal Mode is characterized by the active negotiation of meaning among individuals. Participants observe and monitor one another to see how their meanings and intentions are being communicated. Students engage in conversations, provide and obtain information, express feelings and emotions, and exchange opinions.

 

Link for WL student survey

Here is the link to click on to take the WL survey in class:

http://goo.gl/forms/EcEI3giOIK

The WL department was voted the most spirited department during Homecoming week this year!

The WL department was voted the most spirited department during Homecoming week 
this year!

WORLD LANGUAGE FACULTY

Byrne, Nancy
Spanish Teacher byrne@elmhurst205.org
Chou, Yi Hua Marie
Chinese Teacher/Chinese Club mchou@elmhurst205.org
Cruger, Kathleen
World Language Teacher kcruger@elmhurst205.org
DelPercio, Natalie
Italian Teacher ndelpercio@elmhurst205.org
Disterheft, Catherine
Spanish Teacher cdisterheft@elmhurst205.org
DuBois, Lindsay
French Teacher ldubois@elmhurst205.org
Figiel, Jennifer
Spanish Teacher / Spanish Club jfigiel@elmhurst205.org
Forsythe, Kevin
Teacher
Galarza-Geringer, Jacqueline
ELL Counselor jgalarza-geringer@elmhurst205.org
Hamidi, Suzanne
French Teacher / French Club shamidi@elmhurst205.org
Harms, Kayla
Spanish Teacher kharms@elmhurst205.org
Irsay, David
Bilingual Mathematics Teacher Dirsay@elmhurst205.org
Kaniyaly, Veena
Science Teacher vkaniyaly@elmhurst205.org
Leidolf, Beth
Spanish Teacher bleidolf@elmhurst205.org
Li, Li
World Language Teacher lli@elmhurst205.org
Manfredini-Verrilli, Loredana
Italian Teacher lverrill@elmhurst205.org
Martinez, Eduvijes
Spanish Teacher emartinez@elmhurst205.org
Mishigian, Tamar
World Language Teacher tmishigian@elmhurst205.org
Nall, Jessica
ELL and WL department chair
Oliveros, Diane
ELL/Social Studies Teacher/Latina Dreamers and Yorkettes Club doliveros@elmhurst205.org
Perez, Nancy
Teacher
Rubio, Lorenzo
ELL Teacher/Chicano Bowl/Hispanos Unidos lrubio@elmhurst205.org
Szymonik, Stephanie
Science Teacher sszymonik@elmhurst205.org
Westerberg, Kelley
Spanish Teacher, Spanish Club co-sponsor