York Community High School Home

Looking for your Teacher?


for a master department schedule 

Links to teacher websites are on the schedule


Science Department

Science Department Fall 2016

Science Department Fall 2015

Scholarships and STEM Opportunities



Fermilab Open House

  • Date: February 12, 2017 1:00-5:00 PM
  • Open to all students grade 3 and up


Go Red Goes STEM 2016

  • American Heart Association
  • Junior and Senior Girls can attend
  • Date: Wednesday, November 16, 2016




Society for Science & The Public

  • Regeneron Science Talent Search
  • Scholarship money up to $2,000 per awardee
  • Application due November 16th, 2016




Dr.Kirsten Mahoney
Science Department Chair

The mission of the York Science Department is to inspire minds to inquire, think critically, make informed decisions, and impact the world through service and discovery.

8th Grade Students and Parents

Welcscreencast.jpgome to York! Next year you will be enrolled in one of our Biology classes. To give you a taste of what you may experience here are some screencasts used in our classes. Take a look! 

KI Biology Screencast

Biology Screencast

Honors Biology Screencast 

Science Teachers

Allen, Vanessa
Science Teacher vallen@elmhurst205.org
Behen, Jolee
Special Education English Teacher jbehen@elmhurst205.org
Blaus, Bob
Science Teacher/ECO Club bblaus@elmhurst205.org
Brown, Adam
Science Teacher abrown@elmhurst205.org
Drach, Jeffrey
Science Teacher/ Science Olympiad Club jdrach@elmhurst205.org
Ewald, Megan
Science Teacher mewald@elmhurst205.org
Felix, Dustin
Science Teacher dfelix@elmhurst205.org
Ferhati, Ellizabeth
Science Teacher eferhati@elmhurst205.org
Fisher, Brian
Golebiowski, Mark
Science Teacher mgolebiowski@elmhurst205.org
Heaton, Jill
Instructional Tech Coach jheaton@elmhurst205.org
Kaniyaly, Veena
Science/ELL Science Teacher vkaniyaly@elmhurst205.org
Mahoney, Kirsten
Science Department Chair kmahoney@elmhurst205.org
Moss, Amy
Science Teacher amoss@elmhurst205.org
Parr, Dana
Science Teacher dparr@elmhurst205.org
Paschke, Jeremy
Science Teacher jpaschke@elmhurst205.org
Ramm, Brian
Science Teacher
Rayan, Ronny
Chemistry Teacher
Rowe, Pat
Special Educationi Science Teacher prowe@elmhurst205.org
Szymonik, Stephanie
Science Teacher/ELL Science sszymonik@elmhurst205.org
VanHoeck, Kathy
Science Teacher kvanhoeck@elmhurst205.org
Wolski, Nancy
Science Teacher nwolski@elmhurst205.org
Yun, Lauren
Science Teacher lyun@elmhurst205.org
Zentner, Cynthia
Science Teacher czentner@elmhurst205.org