York Community High School

Looking for your Teacher?

CLICK HERE

for a master department schedule 

Links to teacher websites are on the schedule

t2.png
 

Science Department

8th Grade Students and Parents

Welcome to York! Next year you will be enrolled in one of our Biology classes. Please click on the 8th Grade Night Presentation if you were not able to attend. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here are some resources that highlight the differences in our levels of biology. 

KI Biology                                           

  Homeostasis Calendar & Objectives            

  DNA Screencast 

Biology

  Evolution Calendar & Objectives

  Feedback Loops Screencast

Biology Honors 

  Energy, Life, & Biosphere Objectives and Calendar 

  DNA Replication Screencast 

Science Department Fall 2016

Science Department Fall 2016

The mission of the York Science Department is to inspire minds to inquire, think critically, and make informed decisions allowing students to have a positive impact on society. 

Scholarships and STEM Opportunities

Opportunities

 

College of DuPage STEMCON

  • Saturday, April 29th 9a.m. - 4p.m.
  • Middle and High School Students 
  • Family-friendly Event
  • Hands-on Activities and Demonstrations

 

2017 Chicago Brain Bee

  • Date:  February 11, 2017, 9:00-3:30 PM
  • Competition that tests knowledge in neuroscience including such topics as cells of the nervous system and how they communicate with one another, neuroanatomy, brain-behavior relationships

Fermilab Open House

  • Date: February 12, 2017, 1:00-5:00 PM
  • Open to all students grade 3 and up

Fermilab High School Internship (Target Program) 

  • Illinois sophomores and junior students
  • Internship runs from June 26- August 4 (non-residential program)
  • Intended for students interested in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics careers (STEM fields)
  • Applications due by February 22, 2017

Universtiy of Michigan Math and Science Scholars 

  • Summer enrichment program for current high school students.
  • Three summer sessions run from June 25th - August 4th
  • Applications process begins in January, 2017. 

Emperor Science Award

  • 100 students will be paired with scientists to virtually collaborate on cancer research.
  • Who: Students in Grades 10 & 11
  • Application and essay due: March 17, 2017

 

Scholarships

 

Illinois Chemical Education Foundation High School Scholarship

  • Recognize high school seniors who have exemplified outstanding achievement in academics, extracurricular/employment, and community involvement 
  • Scholarship money up to $2,000 per awardee (must be attending an Illinois post-secondary institution) 
  • Application due February 17, 2017

 

 

CIMG0503.JPG CIMG0529.JPG CIMG0588.JPG APES Zoo FieldTrip.JPG

 

Dr.Kirsten Mahoney
Science Department Chair
630-617-2456
kmahoney@elmhurst205.org

Application for Medical Career Course 17-18

Students applying for Med Careers need to complete THIS APPLICATION and submit a hard copy, along with an essay and letter of recommendation to the YSS Office by 1/27/2017.

Science Teachers

Allen, Vanessa
Science Teacher vallen@elmhurst205.org
Behen, Jolee
Special Education English Teacher jbehen@elmhurst205.org
Blaus, Bob
Science Teacher/ECO Club bblaus@elmhurst205.org
Brown, Adam
Science Teacher abrown@elmhurst205.org
Drach, Jeffrey
Science Teacher/ Science Olympiad Club jdrach@elmhurst205.org
Ewald, Megan
Science Teacher mewald@elmhurst205.org
Felix, Dustin
Science Teacher dfelix@elmhurst205.org
Ferhati, Ellizabeth
Science Teacher eferhati@elmhurst205.org
Fisher, Brian
Teacher
Golebiowski, Mark
Science Teacher mgolebiowski@elmhurst205.org
Heaton, Jill
Instructional Tech Coach jheaton@elmhurst205.org
Kaniyaly, Veena
Science/ELL Science Teacher vkaniyaly@elmhurst205.org
Mahoney, Kirsten
Science Department Chair kmahoney@elmhurst205.org
Moss, Amy
Science Teacher amoss@elmhurst205.org
Parr, Dana
Science Teacher dparr@elmhurst205.org
Paschke, Jeremy
Science Teacher jpaschke@elmhurst205.org
Ramm, Brian
Science Teacher
Rayan, Ronny
Chemistry Teacher
Rowe, Pat
Special Educationi Science Teacher prowe@elmhurst205.org
Szymonik, Stephanie
Science Teacher/ELL Science sszymonik@elmhurst205.org
VanHoeck, Kathy
Science Teacher kvanhoeck@elmhurst205.org
Wolski, Nancy
Science Teacher nwolski@elmhurst205.org
Yun, Lauren
Science Teacher lyun@elmhurst205.org
Zentner, Cynthia
Science Teacher czentner@elmhurst205.org