York Community High School

News Item: Homepage

York National Merit Finalists Honored

Nine York Community High School seniors named among the 16,000 National Merit Semifinalists identified by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) this fall were recently confirmed as NMSC Finalists. They are: Hannah Cronin, Matthew Dardick, Linnea Dierksheide, Courtney Jope, Carina Kanzler, Luke Rozmus, Anshul Shah, Katherine Tomaska and Christopher Ziebert. These students were honored by proclamation of the Elmhurst District 205 Board of Education at its April 10 meeting.

“We are so incredibly proud of these students for their tenacious dedication to academia. They are being recognized for going above and beyond in an extraordinarily challenging selection process. I am thrilled for the students and the opportunities this will provide them moving forward,” said York High School Principal Erin DeLuga.

All NMSC Finalists will be considered for National Merit Scholarships offered in 2018. The selection of some 7,500 Merit Scholarship winners from the group of more than 15,000 Finalists is now in progress. Scholarship winners will be announced by NMSC in four groups from April through July.

Thus far, three York Finalists (Linnea, Carina and Katherine) have been named as recipients of $2,500 National Merit Scholarships. And two York Finalists have been selected as corporate sponsored scholarship winners: Anshul by Alliance Data Systems and Ashley by CDK Global, LLC.


Posted by: Melea Smith, District Admin, Elmhurst Community Unit School District 205 Published:4/10/18
Audience: Homepage, Webmasters and Homepage