York Community High School Home
Welcome to the York English Department

English Department Chair

Poduska, Kevin Teacher

Summer Reading Reminder...

Hello, Dukes.  It's hard to believe that the 2016-17 school year is about to begin.  As we wrap up the summer, I just wanted to take a moment to remind everyone of the summer reading expectations for the fall.  I know that your teachers have talked to you about the summer reading at the end of the year in May, but after a long summer, May may seem like a lifetime ago; therefore, I wanted to share a screencast that I created last year for our incoming freshman: the summer reading expectations are the same for all of our students.  Enjoy those last, relaxing days of summer...and if you need a reminder about your book choices, they are listed below.  Go Dukes.

 

--Mr. Doherty

 

Summer Reading 2016

In The Heart of the Sea.jpg The Final Four.jpg Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight.jpg
Six of Crows.jpg Count.jpg City of Thieves.jpg Handmaid's Tale.jpg
Americanah.jpg Ready Player One.jpg The 5th Wave.jpg
Laughing at my Nightmare.jpg Eleanor and Park.jpg I Hunt Killers.jpg All American Boys.jpg
Hate List.jpg This Boy's Life.jpg Panic.jpg Escape from Camp 14.jpg
Heaven.jpg Caged Warrior.jpg Tell The Wolves.jpg Legend.jpg

English Department 2014-15

English Department 2014-15

 

English Department Philosophy

 

Anton Chekhov is credited with saying, “Don’t tell me the moon is shining; show me the glint of light on broken glass.”  Although more than a century old, this sentiment echoes the inquiry-based philosophy that is the foundation of all English coursework at York Community High School.  This philosophy promotes engagement in individual and group inquiry and builds knowledge through reading, writing, discussion, and debate.  Our inquiry-based approach challenges students with engaging questions, and students communicate their evolving understanding of the inquiry through increasingly sophisticated written and oral arguments. 

 

These inquiry questions provide the lens through which students develop literacy skills such as argumentation or analysis of an author’s bias or intent.  The ultimate goal for student learning is the development of clearly established skills of reading, writing, speaking, and listening, skills that will become crucial as they pursue post-secondary education and careers.  It is our intention to offer college preparatory courses that challenge and inspire.  Ultimately, a student’s four years as a Duke offer the opportunity to discover “the moon” through inquiry and inspire enlightenment through “broken glass.”

 

TEACHER RESOURCE

Looking for a Computer Lab?

Lit Center   (English Dept. priority)

Lincoln Lab   (Social Stdy priority)

Alpha Lab  (Math priority)

Beta Lab  (Math priority)

Learning Common Labs

Student Quick Link

William Shakespeare F. Scott Fitzgerald Malcolm Gladwell Amy Tan Ray Bradbury Alice Walker Tim O'Brien Chinua Achebe Sandra Cisneros John Steinbeck Oscar Wilde Ken Kesey Mary Shelley Robert Louis Stevenson
Status area

English Teachers

Behen, Jolee
Special Education English Teacher jbehen@elmhurst205.org
Bendelow, Andrew
English Teacher abendelow@elmhurst205.org
Bylina, Cecilia
English Teacher cbylina@elmhurst205.org
Carrillo, Benjamin
English Teacher bcarrillo@elmhurst205.org
Chambers, Brendan
English Teacher bchambers@elmhurst205.org
Collins, Matthew
Special Education English Teacher mcollins@elmhurst205.org
Comber, Jennie
Special Education English Teacher jcomber@elmhurst205.org
DeLoriea, Kelly
English Teacher kdeloriea@elmhurst205.org
Drumm, Brian
English Teacher - Assistant Athletic Director bdrumm@elmhurst205.org
Fitzgerald, Kristina
English Teacher kfitzgerald@elmhurst205.org
Fleming, Beth
English Teacher efleming@elmhurst205.org
Fleming, Sheila
English Teacher sfleming@elmhurst205.org
Foran, Elizabeth
Social Studies Teacher and Literacy Coach eforan@elmhurst205.org
Gwizdala, Kimberly
English Teacher kgwizdala@elmhurst205.org
Kennedy-Brooks, Brianne
English Teacher and Key Club Sponsor bkennedy-brooks@elmhurst205.org
Lampa, Kim
English Teacher / York-hi Adviser klampa@elmhurst205.org
Lepore, Anne
Special Education English Teacher alepore@elmhurst205.org
Loerop, Nanette
English Teacher nloerop@elmhurst205.org
McKinney, Rebecca
English Teacher rmckinney@elmhurst205.org
Newman, Liz
English Teacher enewman@elmhurst205.org
Noble, Jessica
English Teacher jnoble@elmhurst205.org
Parrini, Isadora
English Teacher iparrini@elmhurst205.org
Pfau, Laura
English Teacher lpfau@elmhurst205.org
Regan, Sally
English Teacher sregan@elmhurst205.org
Riley, Rachel
English Teacher rriley@elmhurst205.org
Shackleton, Jennifer
English Teacher jshackleton@elmhurst205.org
Sharko, Benjamin
English Teacher bsharko@elmhurst205.org
Stoia, Kelly
Special Education English Teacher kstoia@elmhurst205.org
Wall, Elizabeth
English Teacher ewall@elmhurst205.org
Wood, Lillian
Special Education English Teacher lwood@elmhurst205.org