York Community High School Home

Lauren DeAngelis
Physical Education, Health & Driver Education Department Chair



Linda Wilkie
Department Secretary


Excused Absence Make Up Assignemnt - PE Artilce Review Option

Top 10 Reasons Why You Need Physical Education

Reason 1: Regular Physical Activity Helps Prevent Disease

Reason 2: Regular Physical Activity Promotes Lifetime Wellness

Reason 3: Quality Physical Education Can Help Fight Obesity

Reason 4: Quality Physical Education Can Help Promote Lifelong Physical Fitness

Reason 5: Quality Physical Education Provides Unique Opportunities for Activity

Reason 6: Quality Physical Education Teaches Self-Management and Motor Skills

Reason 7: Physical Activity and Physical Education Promote Learning

Reason 8: Regular Physical Activity Participation Makes Economic Sense

Reason 9: Physical Education Is Widely Endorsed

Reason 10: Quality Physical Education Helps to Educate the Total Child





Physical Education

Department GOOGLE Sites

York High School PE/Health/Driver Education Mission Statement


The mission of York High School’s PE/Health/Driver Education department is to proactively develop physically fit bodies, strengthen minds, and promote positive attitudes towards life-long fitness while shaping individuals to become positive, impactful members of society.


Physical fitness is not only one of the most important keys to a healthy body, it is the basis of dynamic and creative intellectual activity.

~John F. Kennedy


York Physical Education, Health, and Driver Education Department

Home of the Dukes



Dear Parents,

Welcome to the 2015-2016 school year!!  The entire PE/Health/Driver Education staff is excited and dedicated to working with your children to promote life-long healthy habits with an emphasis on life-long activity.  As the Department Chair of Physical Education, Health, and Driver Education I am committed to engaging your children in meaningful activities and lessons while offering a strong curriculum with a variety of choices.

As a department we strongly believe daily physical education for our students is one of the most meaningful parts of their day physically, socially, and mentally.  Students at York will be provided with a foundation for making informed decisions that will enable them to achieve and maintain a healthy lifestyle for years to come.  We want students to graduate from York with knowledge on how to maintain a healthy lifestyle and a desire to be physically active.

At any point in the year please feel free to visit any of our PE/Health/Driver Education classes or if you have any questions or concerns please feel free to contact me at ldeangelis@elmhurst205.org

On behalf of the entire PE/Health/Driver Education staff we wish your children a very successful, meaningful year!




Lauren DeAngelis

Department Chair Physical Education, Health, and Driver Education

York Community High School






Kristen Baron, Mark Bibel, Elizabeth Carlson, John Constable, Mark Giuliani, Dave Kalal, Don Kasper, Dom Kegel, Kris Lundine, Mary Kate Martinelli, Matt Monken, Elizabeth Munn, Markus Roy, Anna, Saporzhnikov, Annette Schulte, Michelle Scurlock, Nicole Young, Don Vana, Nick Metcalf


Baron, Kristen
Bellecomo-Young, Nicole
Physical Education Teacher nbellecomoyoung@elmhurst205.org
Bibel, Mark
Physical Education Teacher mbibel@elmhurst205.org
Constable, John
Physical Education Teacher jconstable@elmhurst205.org
DeAngelis, Lauren
Physical Education, Health, and Driver Education Department Chair
Gallivan, Elizabeth
Special Education Physical Education Teacher egallivan@elmhurst205.org
Giuliani, D. Mark
Physical Education Teacher dgiuliani@elmhurst205.org
Kalal, David
Physical Education/Head Baseball Coach dkalal@elmhurst205.org
Kasper, Donald
Physical Education Teacher dkasper@elmhurst205.org
Lundine, Kris
Physical Educatiotn Teacher klundine@elmhurst205.org
Martinelli, MaryKate
Physical Education Teacher mmartinelli@elmhurst205.org
Monken, Matthew
Physical Education Teacher, Head Football Coach mmonken@elmhurst205.org
Munn, Elizabeth
Roy, Markus
Physical Education Teacher mroy@elmhurst205.org
Sapozhnikov, Anna
Performing Arts Teacher asapozhnikov@elmhurst205.org
Schulte, Annette
Physical Education Teacher aschulte@elmhurst205.org
Scurlock, Michelle